

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org

Janet Waugh District 1

District 2

Melanie Haas Michelle Dombrosky Ann E. Mah District 3

District 4

Jean Clifford District 5

Dr. Deena Horst District 6

Ben Jones District 7

Betty Arnold District 8

Jim Porter District 9

Jim McNiece District 10

## SUMMARY OF THE FEBRUARY 2022 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

## Action

- Accepted plans from the nine Redesign schools presented as a "Go" for launch for this 2022 school year. The Kansans Can School Redesign program supports the Board's outcomes.
- Accepted recommendations of the ESSER Task Force and approved ESSER II change requests as presented for use of federal COVID-19 relief funds. Members also conditionally approved the 29 ESSER III applications as presented.
- In separate votes, approved recommendations of the Professional Practices Commission (one issuance and one denial).

## **Reports and Discussions**

- Freshmen from Basehor-Linwood High School and city officials talked about their collaboration on a new park project in Basehor. Students with the Innovation Academy Emerge are earning course credit for project-based learning, as well as meeting civic engagement goals.
- Nemaha Central USD 115 reported on their strategies to support students and families as they navigate postsecondary plans and formulate their Individual Plan of Study.
- KSDE staff and several guests addressed plans for increasing reading achievement, including the need for meaningful assessments, screenings and structured professional development.
- Commissioner Randy Watson and Deputy Commissioner Brad Neuenswander led a work session with members to analyze data from the Kansans Can Success Tour and ways the information could further enhance the Board's current vision and outcomes.
- Other agenda items included an update on proposed bills that could impact education; a proposal to expand the Kansas City Teacher Residency Program; and a request to approve Haysville's RECESS pilot at the elementary school.

## **Recognition**

- The 2022 Kansas Teacher of the Year Team described what has influenced and inspired them in their education journey. State Treasurer Lynn Rogers surprised each KTOY team member with a 529 Learning Quest award.
- Dr. Craig Correll, Superintendent of Coffeyville USD 445, was honored for being named the 2022 Superintendent of the Year.

<u>Joint Meeting with Board of Regents</u> – Feb. 17 at the Curtis State Office Bldg. Next Regular Meeting - March 8 and 9 at the Landon State Office Bldg.